Catching up

So since the last time I posted, which was forever ago, I’ve moved into a new apartment, quit my last job, started a new job, joined a CSA, started cooking more, and used a grill without my dad for the first time in my life. I’ve also finally cooked the last of the box of soba noodles my parents gave me as a “we pity you, you live on $100 a week” gift. You know times were rough because I stretched it out between a lot of bread, rice, and mistaken bouts of thinking I had enough money to eat out.

This is a warm preparation of soba, and isn’t traditional by any means. It’s a riff on the stir-fried tomato and egg dish my mom always made when I was growing up. We used to eat it with rice or noodles with some green veggies on the side. Here I mixed in roasted tomatoes, some shredded carrots, tofu, scallions, and a last bit of magic, sesame oil.

Leave a comment