Rhubarb Jam

Saturday was my very first CSA pickup of the season! I got tons of delicious things–sugar snap peas, broccoli rabe, lettuce, kale, arugula, strawberries, eggs, scapes, and rhubarb. Last year I was part of a smaller CSA that supplied me with more unorthodox ingredients, like amaranth; it was interesting, but I’m happy that this time around I have a fridge full of things I generally know how to prepare. 

The rhubarb wouldn’t fit in my fridge and after contemplating whether I should cut it up before storing it in the fridge,  I decided to use it right away because I’d never cooked or stored rhubarb before and wasn’t sure if it would lose flavor (or something). I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do with it, but inspired by The Jam Stand, I decided to make a boozy jam out of the rhubarb with the red wine I had sitting on my counter. I wanted to make it taste a little more interesting and so I added some fig balsamic vinegar to balance the sweetness of the jam. This was my first time making jam, and I have to say it turned out pretty well! I put some in my oatmeal this morning and it was excellent. 

This version of rhubarb jam was really easy to make as well. I just cut the rhubarb into 1/2 inch chunks, and boiled the rhubarb for 25 minutes (half covered, half uncovered) with 3/4 cup of sugar, 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, half a cup of wine, and a cup of water until it developed the consistency of jam. 

Image

Leave a Reply

