Sunday Morning Banana Muffins

Baking on a Sunday morning is one of my favorite things to do, especially when it’s been a while since I’ve had time to make anything at all! In the last 4 weeks, I’ve only made 10 meals, which I find sad, because I love cooking and feel kind of gross if I’m at restaurants all the time. But I had a lot of catching up to do with my friends and my social life, and now that I feel like I have a little break, I’m pledging to cook much more. After my restaurant spree, it’ll be nice to have people over for dinner.

At work we’ve always got tons and tons of bananas lying around and evidently, not enough demand to eat them before they get overripe. They usually go to waste, since few people actually want extra-mushy bananas. During my first week there, a coworker of mine took the extra bananas home at the end of the week and brought a fresh-baked loaf of banana bread in on Monday morning. I decided to mimic her idea–except I made banana muffins–and I don’t feel like sharing, so they’ll all be for me and any friends who come over next week!

Image

One thing I love about banana bread is the ever-moistness that you get from the mashed fruit, which really helps with favorable impressions.

The recipe is really simple: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mash 3 ripe bananas and mix in 1/4 cup of melted butter, an egg, 3 tablespoons of Greek yogurt, 2/3 cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, a pinch of salt, and 1 tsp of baking soda. Add 1 1/2 cups flour last, and add chopped walnuts, if you like (I happen to really like nuts in baked goods). Bake in a 4×8 loaf pan for 50 minutes, or in a regular sized muffin tin for 15-18 minutes.

Leave a Reply

