Soba in Miso Broth

November’s unusually warm weather spoiled me quite a bit–I was surprised when I was nearly overblown by some frigid winds on the walk to work this morning!

The powerful gusts reminded me of the time my family and I went to the Grand Canyon during one of Arizona’s worst winters. I was 4 and I’d never seen snow before. Growing up in Southern California, I wouldn’t see snow again until my first college winter. Our tour bus pulled up to the convenience store packed full of tourists trying to keep warm and we jumped out. As we walked nearer and nearer towards the endless pit, the winds grew stronger and stronger until I thought I was about to fall in–I held on to the railing for dear life!

When we finally made it back to the tour bus, my parents and I stopped into the convenience store and got some Maruchan cup noodles–stuff I wouldn’t touch now. Safe inside from today’s bitter cold winds,  I warmed my battered cold blues with a distant cousin–actually perhaps a distant great grandparent of Maruchan noodles: soba in miso broth from 101 Cookbooks. I added some blanched kale and tofu to mine and it made for a deliciously soul-warming meal. Now if only I didn’t have to go outside so soon!

Leave a Reply

