Kale Chips

DSC_0276

When the year first started, I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to cook as often as I’d like; I guess, with the amount of stuff that I’m doing for school and otherwise, I probably shouldn’t have time to cook, but this past weekend, I just needed to make something in order to recenter myself. I needed to create a moment that was outside of school, although, ironically, it would end up being on campus. A friend of mine and I went to the Wooster Square Farmer’s Market this past Saturday morning. She was interviewing farmers and vendors for an upcoming article in the new campus magazine, which I am the recipes editor of, and which will debut on Parent’s Weekend (Oct. 9)! That’s one of the things I’ve been working on and taking pictures for–hopefully my food photog skills are good enough for the magazine, I know that I’m definitely learning a lot about photog composition, etc. I’m borrowing a friend’s DSLR, and I’m having a lot of fun experimenting with it, actually.

Anyway, Alice and I stopped by the YSFP stand at the market and the farm manager let us have produce for free if we promised to make something out of it for the Food & Film Festival Potluck. We obviously agreed. Free fresh, organic, local produce? Always a plus. The Food & Film Festival was great, by the way. I didn’t get the chance to go to Julie & Julia, nor did I have time to go to the Jacques Pepin demo, but I did get to watch Babette’s Feast, with my first ever Louis Lunch hamburger in my lap. It was a glorious combination, which I guess inspired me to get out of my bookish life and appeal to my inner creature of comfort by making some food. I picked out some kale from the stand, since I’d never actually eaten it before. It was lush and green, and I thought it would be perfectly poetic to do the opposite with it: bake it to a crisp.

DSC_0294

These kale chips were lightly flavored with extra virgin olive oil, some balsamic vinegar, and salt. They tasted delicious; they’re the most legit veggie chips on earth. If you’re not sure what to do with kale, bake it!

To make: Preheat the oven to 350 F. remove stems from kale, cut into desired size (remember veggies shrink when cooked), toss them lightly with extra virgin olive oil and a bit of balsamic vinegar, spread them out on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

