Baked Apples

DSC_0226

Coming back to school is always a weird adjustment for me. The last part of my summer is generally filled with indistinguishable hours upon hours of mental vegetation. I did manage to fit a couple of books in there, though. But mostly, I watched too many episodes of House and fifteen clips of Frye & Laurie. The moment I checked my bags in at the airport and had to pay an extra $20 bucks for a bag, I missed sitting in my living room with absolutely nothing to do and no people to charge me sadly necessary extra fares in order to stay afloat. The real world sucks. But, food makes it so much better.

For the past two weeks, I’ve been moving into the last room I will ever live in as an undergraduate. It’s pretty spacious, but only because my room was originally meant for two people. And if I keep eating organic oat bran pretzels and peanut butter at the same rate I have been eating them, I’m going to need my pants to magically expand to fit two of me.

DSC_0222

I finally had a chance to make a new recipe for this blog, and I wanted my food to help me transition back into CT and into what I love about coming back to school, which is the beauty of fall. Naturally, nothing inaugurates the fall better than some locally grown CT baked apples. So,  I thought of a sweet, fluffy, and cinnamony filling and went to work.  These smelled so warm and loving in the oven, in only the way that cinnamon can make me feel. I have a secret obsession with cinnamon and a not-so-secret one with peanut butter. Anyway. Baked apples are easy to make, and a must make when apple season rolls around!

Ingredients

4 baking apples (MacIntosh, Granny Smith, Red Delicious)

1/4 cup of ricotta or marscapone cheese

1/4 cup of honey

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 cup raisins

1/4 cup slivered almonds

1/2 tsp orange zest

1. preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. core apples and remove seeds, leaving the bottoms intact.

3. mix stuffing: ricotta, raisins, cinnamon, almonds, orange zest, and honey together.

4. stuff the mixture into the apples.

5. fill the baking pan with 1/4 cup of water and bake for 35 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Baked Apples

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Baked Apples with Nuts, Dates, Coconut Milk Recipe: Diet Treat — Family Fresh Cooking

Leave a Reply

