Curry Salmon Wrap w/ Cucumber Mint Yogurt Salad

Salmon Wrap 001

A couple weeks ago, I read about Traitor Joe’s and more or less ignored it, since I didn’t exactly have the budget to buy  fresh, oceanographically conscious fish. Well, really, I couldn’t get up early enough to get to the farmer’s market at Grand Army Plaza to snag anything that wouldn’t rot in the heat on the way back home. Now that I’m back in California for a couple weeks before I go back to school, the parental wallet has been kind to me and I bought some wild-caught Coho salmon. Yum.

At school they sometimes do this mysterious thing where they rub a bunch of curry powder onto a salmon fillet and bake it. I wasn’t really in the mood for baking fish the other day, so I did something a little better–I pan fried it, shredded the fillet, and rolled it up in a whole wheat wrap with a cucumber mint salad made with Fage Total 0%. Fage, by the way, is like my new best friend–I think I might use it as a cream cheese substitute for cheesecake one day. That is, if I can keep myself from eating right when I buy it.

Anyway, this salmon wrap is a refreshing way to appreciate a good fillet. Remember, fish are friends…AND food…

I have to admit, I’m not really one for writing these days; I’ll be writing plenty starting next Friday, so posts will be a little short.

Recipe (serves 4)

4 whole wheat wraps (or tortillas)

4 4-5 oz salmon fillets (skin and bones removed)

1 tablespoon of curry powder, divided

salt and pepper to taste

Cucumber and Mint Yogurt Salad

1 medium cucumber, julienned

a few mint leaves, finely chopped

1/2 cup of Greek yogurt

small pinch of salt

1. Rub salt, pepper, and curry powder onto all sides of each salmon fillet at least 20 minutes to an hour before cooking.

2. Grease a skillet or use a non-stick one, and pan-fry the salmon for about 4 minutes to a side.

3. In a bowl, mix the julienned cucumber, mint, Greek yogurt, and small pinch of salt together. Remember, you’ve salted the salmon as well, so go easy–you can always add more salt later.

4. Shred the salmon when done, and divide it amongst the wheat wraps, add the cucumber salad and roll it all up!

Leave a Reply

