Pork Chop Bulgogi

porkchops 010

I know I can’t really call this recipe “bulgogi” because bulgogi is actually thinly sliced beef marinated in an exceptional Korean sauce. The reason why I’ve christened this recipe with bulgogi in its title is this: I used the traditional bulgogi marinade as the flavoring for these pork chops. It’s the kind of thing that happens when you’re craving a certain taste, but have got the wrong thing in your refrigerator. Well, I guess I can’t say pork chops are wrong; meat is meat, and chicken, beef, and pork generally seem to absorb flavors quite well.

I was inspired to make a bulgogi sauce after I read about New York Hot Dog & Coffee’s bulgogi wraps and hot dogs. While it’s been years since I could bring myself to eat a hot dog after reading how much mysterious filler, chemicals, and strange ground up parts are in one, I found myself clicking through pictures of the menu and salivating. That hot dog looked good. It was like one of those Jenny Jones nerdy to hottie reveals. Dressed up, I was more inclined to eat it. “No, no, no,” I said to myself. I wasn’t going to give in to mystery meat. What I really wanted, I decided, was that bulgogi.

porkchops 008

I’m in my last week in NYC here, and I had some pork chops in the freezer begging to be eaten and a wallet that wouldn’t forgive me if I let them go to waste. So, here these chops are: garlicky, savory, sweet, and full of that umami flavor.

Recipe for the marinade (for two medium, thinly pounded chops):

2 tbsp. soy sauce

1/2 tbsp. honey

2 cloves of garlic, mashed and coarsely chopped

some red pepper flakes

1/2 tbsp. sesame oil

1 green onion, chopped.

1. Mix the marinade together, and add the meat to it. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours or overnight.

2. Add it to the pan, cook it til done, and eat!

Leave a Reply

