White Nectarine Galette

peachgalette 001-1

I love summers. Last summer, I lived in Budapest with a few friends, and I have to say that one of my favorite memories is of the trip we took to the Hungarian countryside. Our taxi driver made no qualms about driving on the wrong side of the road with big rigs coming towards us, had a delightful time rocking our car to some Britney Spears, and high-fived my friend Yuri, who was sitting in the front seat, when Yuri expressed recognition of Mrs. Spears’ voice. I wish I could say that I was as comfortable with it. Of course, as good adventures go, ours didn’t end there; shortly after our arrival, we dropped off our bags in our rooms and were quickly put on a tomato cart hitched to a horse, which the driver started to direct into an oncoming thunderstorm.

peachgalette 006-1

Of course, what made it all worth it was the beautiful horse ranch, the friendly people, the wine, an excellent chef, a nice, warm fire, and some good old horseback riding. I think that’s when I first fell in love with rustic foods and textures. Like those loaves of chunky, crackling bread that supermarkets of late have made more familiar than rural, galettes remind me of simpler times and places. You know, when people didn’t have round pie-tins, and simply encased their fruit or nut fillings in folds of buttery, flaky dough.

peachgalette 028

So to go with the season, I picked a stone fruit: white nectarines are one of my favorite snacks. I was craving a bit of warmth, so I decided to spice them up with a little cinnamon and sugar, to give the entire thing a little back-burner kick. I think it’d be the perfect thing to bring to a picnic…of course it’s also the perfect thing for someone to enjoy by him/herself. For the benefits of your physical health, however, I wouldn’t recommend it. I’m going to stay away from making recommendations about one’s emotional health.

Recipe for dough (makes one galette dough, serves 6-8)

1  cup flour

1/4 cup ice water

1 tbsp. plain yogurt

3 1/2 tbsp cold, unsalted butter, cubed

1 tbsp. sugar

Pinch of salt

1. Mix dry ingredients together. Mix the yogurt and ice water together, and keep cold/refrigerate.

2. Incorporate the cubed butter into the flour, either with a fork or with your hands. You can also use a food processor if you have one.

3. As the mixture comes together, add the cold water/yogurt mixture a tablespoon at a time to help the dough come together. Keep adding it until the dough sticks to itself. It shouldn’t be sticky (or at least, it’ll be easier on you later if it isn’t, so if you have to add a little flour, go ahead). Chill for at least 2 hours or overnight.

For the filling:

2-3 ripe white nectarines (you can use peaches)

1 tbsp. sugar

1/4 tbsp. cinnamon

1. Slice the nectarines into thin wedges (1/4 inch).

2. In a bowl, mix the nectarines wedges, cinnamon, and sugar together.

3. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. Roll out the chilled galette dough to a round that is about a foot in diameter or an 1/8th of an inch thick.

4. Bake it for 25 minutes.

One thought on “White Nectarine Galette

Leave a Reply

