Versatile Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Cookies

pboatmealcookie 009

You know that great shirt, dress, pair of pants, or accessory you have in your closet or on your dresser that just goes with everything? The one that you would wear every day if you could, because it’s basic enough that you could get away with it for at least a week before someone noticed, and it looks great enough that no one’s going to complain that you’re offending their sense of sight. Yes, there’s something about versatility that makes our lives easier and slightly more livable. Well, one of the most versatile foods around, provided you’re not allergic, is peanut butter. I’m so in love with peanut butter…I’m actually going to start carrying a jar of organic crunchy peanut butter with me when school starts again so I can slather it on some bread if the dining hall fare seems lacking that day. Why lug a jar around with me? 1. Because I want to, and you know you love how much I love peanut butter. 2. Because the peanut butter in the dining hall is that partially hydrogenated, heavily sugared stuff that’ll give me heart disease and diabetes, which I don’t need.

pboatmealcookie 002

Anyway, I came across this recipe for peanut butter banana oatmeal cookies because there was a single banana blackening away in a bowl on the counter, and I figured I wasn’t going to let some annoying fruit flies get the best of me. This recipe has no sugar. If you’re looking for your typical peanut butter cookie, this is not it. This is something healthier–think more granola bar than cookie. Although, of course, if you want to go ahead and add your 1/2 cup of sugar to the batter, then you’ll end up wtih something that is probably more to your liking. I personally am perfectly fine without the sugar. I feel little to no guilt when I’m loading up one of these cookies with some vanilla ice cream or smothering them in strawberry jam for a little pbj.

Recipe (makes about 18, add 1/2 cup sugar if you want a more traditional cookie)

1/3 cup crunchy peanut butter

2 cups rolled oats

1/4 cup flour

2 overripe bananas, mashed

2 tablespoons honey, agave syrup, or maple syrup

2 tablespoons milk or soymilk (or more, as needed for dough to come together)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix this all together. Bake for 13-16 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Versatile Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Cookies

    • Thanks Wendy! I found that adding 1/4 cup more honey made the cookies taste even better. Dipping them in chocolate afterwards is a great choice too.

  1. I think I missed something in the recipe – I tried to make these and none of the dough clumped together! It was basically just granola .. suggestions?

    • hi jenny, hmmm well i was using organic peanut butter, which is generally a little runnier than regular, and the fat in that should be comparable to using butter. if the peanut butter didn’t help clump the dough together, maybe microwaving it to melt it a bit would help. did you incorporate the mashed bananas (they should be overripe), which would add more substance and moisture to the dough. also, you might have to add more milk as needed. i’ll adjust that above. thanks for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

