Have Turkey, Make Meatballs

meatballs 012

Spaghetti and meatballs on a Saturday night might be kid’s stuff, but it’s really good kid’s stuff. From that old nursery song that goes something like, “on top of spaghetti, all covered with cheese…” to my childhood favorite, Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs, which, apparently, is coming to the big-screen at some point, it’s clear that meatballs have their special place in the annals of the comfort food hall of fame, not that there is one. But there should be. After a long, but productive, and overall enriching week at “the office,” I was looking forward to the weekend. Weekends mean that I finally get to consume some of the groceries that I bought, sometimes up to two weeks ago, thinking that I would use them. Fresh produce doesn’t mean much unless you have the time to eat it.

meatballs 013

Anyway, for the last couple of days, I’ve been trying to think of a way to use up the turkey sausage I bought at the farmer’s market. Then, I realized, that turkey sausage was clearly not the only thing I had to finish up in my refrigerator. I had a batch of jalapenos, some red pepper, garlic (that I thought I would use up a lot quicker than I did), and figured that they might all go together somehow. I’m not a big fan of breakfast sausage patties, so I kind of figured I’d wing it and make meatballs out of the whole mess. All I needed to add to the mix, really, were an egg (which I needed to use up, anyhow) and some breadcrumbs.

meatballs 014

These are incredibly easy to make. Just be sure to use some kind of non-stick spray on the slotted rack so your meatballs don’t stick to it when they come out of the oven. Also, if I had some lean-ground turkey, I probably would have added it. As it was, I didn’t, and these turned out to be incredibly tasty, so I didn’t have any kitchen regrets about it or anything.

Recipe (serves 4)

1/2 pound sweet turkey sausage

2 jalapeno peppers, seeded & ribbed

1/2 red bell pepper

3 cloves garlic

1 pinch of salt (the sausage is already seasoned)

1 egg

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

1. Preheat your oven to 350. Dice bell peppers & jalapenos. Mince garlic.

2. In a bowl, mix all of the above ingredients together, just until incorporated. Be careful not to overmix the meat.

3. Shape them into golf-ball sized portions and set them on a slotted baking sheet (be sure to put another one under it to catch the grease). Bake for 25-30 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Have Turkey, Make Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Here Turkey, Turkey Turkey… | Foodie and the Everyman

    • hi carly,

      thank you for catching that! i think when i got a new wordpress template something funny must have happened. the rest of the recipe is up there now–and sorry for my late reply!

      m

Leave a Reply

