Wednesday Morning Banana Bread

bananabread 006-2

There’s something extraordinary about the golden brown glow of a loaf of banana bread. It glistens in the light and surprises your tongue as your teeth sink moistly into each bite of a thick slice. I’ve tried numerous recipes: low-fat versions, whole-wheat loaves, original, and lemon-zested cakes. This time, I chose to experiment with the sweetener. I also went with a much, much simpler recipe, which uses only 7 ingredients, all of which you probably have in your pantry. Instead of granulated or even brown sugar (which is simply white sugar mixed with molasses) I decided to use honey as a natural sweetener in this recipe.

bananabread 015

I got lucky today and got most of the day off. The other Whitney interns and I got to go to the “Younger than Jesus” exhibition at the New Museum downtown, and I have to say it was pretty remarkable. I’ve been leafing through decades and decades of past exhibition ephemera and I have to say, I didn’t really get the hype about new media/video installations at first, but I was actually really intrigued and, dare I say, entertained by some of the ones I saw in the exhibition. You should totally go, especially if you are, “younger than Jesus” yourself. It’s an excellent compilation of the works of international artists under the age of 33. The New Museum is located at 235 Bowery in the East Village.

So that’s my tourist plug for the day! It’s been difficult finding time to make interesting recipes and harder still to make them in time to photograph them using natural light. For all those food bloggers out there who also work day jobs: you guys are impressive!

I hope you will enjoy this very healthy version of banana bread. You could go a step further and use whole wheat (for a really dense loaf, not my favorite for banana bread) or sprout or spelt flour. I love when you can see the little bits of banana and banana fibers in the bread.

bananabread 012

Recipe (adapted from Dr. Weil’s recipe)

3 overripe bananas

1/2 cup honey (I used slightly less, because honey is sweeter per serving than sugar)

3 tablespoons of butter, canola oil, or vanilla yogurt

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 cups flour

1/4 tsp. salt

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a bowl, melt butter. Mix in honey and vanilla extract. Mash bananas in with liquid mixture.

2. In another bowl, stir together dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and get batter together. Grease a loaf pan.

3. Bake for about 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

