Lemon-pistachio Sandies

porto-cookie 003-1

Can I even call these cookes “sandies”? Does Keebler own the trademark? I hope not. That would be truly, truly unfortunate. Because there really is no other way to describe these cookies. I guess I could say “shortbread.” But I don’t think that would be quite accurate. So I made my first attempt at dessert in my new Park Slope digs, and I have to say, I liked them quite a lot. They’re supposed to be taken with tea, which is a great suggestion. Something to wash down all that delicious richness. We all know that Keebler would have suggested milk. Well, that would have just been wrong.

porto-cookie 003-1

Anyway, these cookies were amazingly quick to make (save the hour-long chill time in between). They’re amazingly bright because of the lemon zest and they’re also quite light, if you make the correct number of servings. Believe it or not, this recipe makes about 5 dozen cookies. Remember, tea is to delicate as potluck is to pig-out. All right, I’m going to keep this short so I can go join the Dalys and watch some Leverage. It’s that show on TNT that is basically a weekly Ocean’s 11. Which I loved, for various reasons (George Clooney in a suit).

This recipe was featured on The Cookie Blog!

Recipe (makes about 5 dozen cookies, original recipe at Once Upon a Plate)

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cups butter

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tbsp. lemon zest

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1 egg

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup finely chopped pistachios (I skipped the extra sugar on top)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl.

3. Cream butter and sugar. Add egg. Add lemon zest and lemon juice.

4. Stir in dry ingredients and chill for an hour.

5. Scoop the dough into 1 inch balls and roll tops in the pistachios. Flatten them slightly on the cookie sheet.

6. Bake for about 10-12 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Lemon-pistachio Sandies

  1. Margaret. These look AMAZING. I’ve been craving something uniquely lemony and the only thing I’ve made are lemon cupcakes. And the sandwich below makes me wish I were rooming with you in NYC.

    Let me know how your internship is going! And if you wanna talk more about your magazine ideas.

Leave a Reply

