A Pinwheel Egg Roll w/Caramelized Onions, Turkey, and Spinach

egg-roll-015-1

So I was listening to Saint-Saens’ Carnival of the Animals Zoological Fantasy on Pandora today and I realized that the opening music of Beauty and the Beast sounds like it could have been influenced by old Camille. Anyway, I’ve been having an unfortunately lethargic day in New Haven. My mind can’t seem to focus on the paper I’m supposed to be writing because I just finished printing my book! One copy is strictly a mess–it’s a good thing to keep though, in terms of remembering and examining the artistic process of book-making. Having taken this class, it horrifies me to think back to 1440, when Gutenberg first invented a press w/movable type. The book I made probably has 800 words total–hardly a book by any real standard.

egg-roll-012-2

Now that it’s over with, I decided to celebrate with some stove fun. Though there are only two weeks left of school, I thought it would be smart to buy a dozen eggs (read: not smart when you have a meal plan and are lazy). I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with them, so before I went to sleep last night, I lay awake, agonizing over how to get rid of them. I was also thinking of Costco party platters. My mind multi-tasks too much. Anyway, so I remembered those turkey wrap/pinwheel things and I thought, “Hey! Why not make something similar, but use an egg peel as a wrap instead of a tortilla?” I figured I needed the extra protein anyway. I went to the dining hall and picked up some filler ingredients: spinach, onions, smoked turkey, and some lemon basil salt. I know, that’s a randomly fancy thing to have in a dining hall. Now, unfortunately, I smell like caramelized onions and I’m sitting at the library, probably offending those around me. Yay!

These would make a great appetizer.

egg-roll-023-12

Ingredients (for one roll)

2 eggs

3 pinches of salt+ some pepper to taste (flavored salts would work great as well)

1 cup spinach

1/2 cup onions

4 slices deli turkey meat

2 tsp olive oil

1. Heat a 10-inch skillet. Add 1 tsp of olive oil. Caramelize the onions (takes about 5 minutes). Set the onions aside.

2. Beat 2 eggs with salt and pepper. Add the other tsp of olive oil to the skillet. Then add eggs. Let the egg set and take the shape of the skillet. Turn your burner a little lower if you’re afraid of the egg peel scorching. Once it’s set, you can attempt to flip it over with a spatula, or just wait until the egg is cooked through and remove it from the skillet onto a cutting board.

3. Layer the spinach onto the egg peel. Then add the caramelized onions in a later, and then spread the turkey on top. Roll the egg as you would roll a cinnamon roll. Cut it up into pinwheels and eat!

One thought on “A Pinwheel Egg Roll w/Caramelized Onions, Turkey, and Spinach

  1. Even though I’m not a huge fan of onions in any form, this recipe sounds so yummy 🙂 I love those little pinwheel things, and this would be just an excuse to get more protein in my diet 🙂

Leave a Reply

