Raspberry Brownies

raspberry-brownie-008-2

Update: I really should still be working on that book. Although, someone else is probably at the printing press now, which means I can’t work anyway, right?

Anyway, so I was reading about the Nazi occupation of Hungary and the extermination of Hungarian Jewry (yeah I know, it’s a regular topic of casual conversation), and naturally I began to want something uplifting.  So, I figured (again, naturally) that baking would be the best way to better the mood. I’ve been hankering to bake some raspberry brownies for a while, ever since I had some of that Dagoba roseberry chocolate a couple weeks ago. Yes, I just said, “hankering,” and yes, I am a 40 year old woman living in suburban America circa 1950.

This’ll have to be short, cause I do have to run: end scene.

raspberry-brownie-005-1

Recipe (makes 12)

1/2 cup flour

3/8 cup unsweetened cocoa

1/2 sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp coffee grounds

3/4 stick butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/2 cup raspberries (frozen or fresh)

1. Grease a 8 inch square baking pan and preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Melt butter in a bowl, add sugar, eggs, and vanilla extract. Mix til smooth.

3. In another bowl, compile dry ingredients: flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt.

4. Add the dry ingredients into the butter/sugar/egg/vanilla mixture

5. Mix in raspberries. Bake for 30-35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

