Cinnamon Toast Crunch: The Sandwich

grilled-peanut-butter-002-1

I’ve admitted it before, and I’ll gladly say it again: I am unhealthily in love with peanut butter. This year, I also became obsessed with cinnamon. Cinnamon is apparently great for preventing joint/internal organ inflammation–so for all of you out there with your appendices intact, eat cinnamon, or beware! I love the spicy, woodsy taste of ground cinnamon. It always reminds me of Thanksgiving or Christmas, logs on a fire, a nice warm sweater, a good book (for leisure, and NOT for class!), and nature.

So in my mind, there’s nothing better than a heaping, comforting spoon-ful of peanut butter mixed with the wood-roasted smell and spice of cinnamon. Of course, I’ve had cinnamon-raisin peanut butter, made by the Peanut Butter Company, and I’ve also made my own using honey instead of sugar, so this time I decided to go about it a different way. I wanted my cinnamon to be toasted, to really bring out its flavor–and you can’t toast peanut butter, unfortunately. But I promise, at some point, I’ll find a way to do that, too. So, I figured, why not find some cinnamon bread. I remembered that the dining halls stock the bread basket with cinnamon-raisin bread (what do you know, just what I needed!), so I got quickly to the task of making this grilled sandwich: crunchy peanut butter with apples on grilled cinnamon-raisin bread.

There you have it–your typical oatmeal flavor (apples & cinnamon) and your eccentric mix of peanut butter and cinnamon all in one. I’m definitely making it again.

grilled-peanut-butter-004

Ingredients (for one)

Two slices of cinnamon-raisin bread (you can get it in a grocery store, or make your own)

1 tbsp peanut butter (I use crunchy)

Half an apple, sliced

1. This is really easy. Just spread the peanut butter on each slice of bread, layer the apples in the middle, and stick the whole thing on a panini press. Or toast it in a pan. It’s crunchy. And delicious.

One thought on “Cinnamon Toast Crunch: The Sandwich

Leave a Reply

