French Toast Parfait

french-toast-004-11

For the past few weeks I’ve been busy researchin’, reading’, you know…general book larnin’. I have two papers in some form of incompletion, one vaguely forming in my conscious, and a book-making project. To most people, that last thing sounds fun. It is fun. There’s nothing like rolling your own specially crafted (read: stumbled-upon) color of paint, putting paper through a 19th century printing press, and stenciling your own illustrations. Too often, however, perfectionism ruins fun. For the last three days, I’ve thought about little else besides that book that I’ve got to make.

I’m thinking I should send Charles Ryskamp an apology email saying, “Dear Mr. Ryskamp, I accept the fact that I volunteered to research and write this paper on male friendship and intimacy during the late 18th century as it relates to art. I am so sorry I haven’t given more thought to the paper I’m writing for the exhibition. I want to give it the attention it deserves, and unfortunately that isn’t quite possible right now. Sincerely, A Month Behind the Deadline.” I’m thinking I should probably be writing that paper instead of watching The Breakfast Club.

french-toast-009

The great thing is, that amidst some of this craziness, I, being mentally stable, realized that a break was in order. I wanted that break I got after I tumbled onto a Hungarian horse ranch out of a taxi van that was swerving to the beat of Britney Spears (hello, mentally UNSTABLE taxi driver). I wanted that rich smell of fresh air, new life post near-death, some thick-sliced bread, and some fruit. So, what did I do? I decided to make a French toast yogurt parfait. Yeah, I know, just like that, right? It’s actually kind of a mini-breakfast layer-cake. Instead of cream you’ve got honey Greek yogurt. And strawberries on top. And so on. What was that Kurt Vonnegut wrote? “So it goes.” Well, that too. But not the way he meant it.

french-toast-014

Recipe for French Toast Parfait (for 2)

6 slices whole wheat bread

A glass cup to cut bread into circles (or a stencil)

2 eggs

1/8 cup soy milk

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tsp honey

3/4 cup Greek yogurt

Some extra honey for drizzling

Your favorite fruit (mine at the moment: strawberries)

1. Beat eggs, milk, honey, and cinnamon together in a bowl. Then transfer to a larger plate so you can soak the bread in it. Or, if you have a large enough bowl to do it all in one, go for it.

2. While the bread is absorbing the liquid, grease a pan (I use PAM for fat-free cooking, but you can use a tbsp butter).

3. Fry the French toast until GBD (golden brown & delicious)

4. To make parfait layers: taking a knife, slather the yogurt onto each circular slice. Then drizzle some honey on it. Stack another slice on top, repeat til you have a stack 3 high. Then top with your favorite fruit!

Leave a Reply

