Roasted Red Pepper Deviled Eggs


“The opaque white outer layer lay open-faced on my plate in two halves, looking rather despondent without its sunny yellow center: the Tin Man without his heart. The purity of the yolk was damaged, mixed with gloppy mayonnaise, mustard, and pepper and stuffed back into the body cavity of the egg in an imperfect transplant. The hardboiled egg had gone into surgery and not come back the same. I shrugged and took a tentative bite. I remember the sweet creaminess of the deviled egg, interrupted by the Jello-like intervals of egg white and the generally sulfuric smell of hard-boiled egg neatly disguised by the smokiness of fresh-cracked black pepper. More importantly, I remember that I proudly taught my parents the recipe right when I got home.”

That was my first cooking experience. Deviled eggs and I go way back to the tender age of 7. Back then, I had to make them for a class project, though I don’t remember what it was. Leave it to me to remember the food and not the assignment. Of course Sunday was Easter and eggs and Easter go hand in hand. Eggs symbolize new life, which all ties in pretty neatly with the Resurrection. The thing is, Easter, like many other holidays has come a long way from its religious roots to become an opportunity for many to hang out and feast with family or enjoy a basket of too many chocolates. That’s great for people like me, heathens with no spiritual roots other than the sacrosanct necessity to eat.


Thus: the deviled egg. The perfect recipe to use up all those painted creations that now serve no purpose and will stink up your garbage if left to their own ends. I made this recipe with some spices in my dining hall. It’s Italian inspired, that’s for sure. Which I suppose is fitting with Catholic and Easter tradition. I diced some roasted red peppers and sprinkled some dried rosemary, basil, and thyme on top for added flavor. They were delicious, easy, and quite classy-looking. You could certainly serve them as appetizers at a party. In fact, you should, if you’ve got eggs left over. If you’ve got fresh ingredients as well, by all means, use them! I was limited to dried herbs because that’s what my dining hall has–but if I had choice or form of transportation, I’d be all over some fresh basil.

Recipe for Roasted Red Pepper Deviled Eggs:

1 hardboiled egg
1 tsp mayonnaise (I used pesto mayonnaise)
1/2 tsp mustard
2 slices roasted red peppers
1/4 tsp combination of dried basil, thyme, and rosemary

Makes 2 halves, multiply for multiple eggs.

1. Halve the egg lengthwise. Put yolk into bowl. Dice red peppers. Add mayonnaise, mustard, and peppers to bowl. Mash and mix until you form a kind of paste.
2. Scoop the egg yolk mixture back into the hollow of the egg white. Sprinkle the dried herbs on top. Yes it is that easy.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper Deviled Eggs

  1. Pingback: How to Roast Red Peppers (and 12 ways to use them) | Joyful Abode

  2. Pingback: roasted red pepper purée | Diary of a Crazed Cook

Leave a Reply

