Goat Cheese, Honey, Pear, and Grape Crostini


My friend John got one-week’s leave on account of good behavior from the labor camp he was sent to for failing to pay his barber’s bill. Out of all the places he chose to vacation, he picked New Haven, Connecticut. So I’ve spent almost every waking moment of the last three days with him, natch. Before you gasp and tell my mother that one of my best friends is a Siberian-age criminal and she doesn’t speak to me for a month, I guess I should rewind and say John’s actually studying abroad this semester at Goldsmith’s College in London. I’m not sure whether he’s failed to pay his barber’s bill, but I know that he no longer has his Jimi Hendrix fro. And he has got a new, VERY ridiculous jacket.

I want to say this jacket of his is European, genteel, and tweedy. Something he could wear to, say, an uppercrusty soiree or Saturday afternoon cricket. Alas, no. This jacket is puffy, shiny to the point of patent, quilted, sweater-lined, attitude-collared, and all together fab-u-lous. So I decided to tame it with crostini.

Ever since my first visit to the farmer’s market a couple months ago, I’ve been in love with Beltane Farms’ fresh soft goat cheese. I’m totally obsessed with the idea of salty and sweet and love the combination of fruit and cheese, like many people do, so I was really looking forward to this venture. But alas! I don’t have an oven, so I had to improvise a bit with a little bit of olive oil and a pan.


I think John and Amy were happy with the results, which made me happy–yay!

Recipe
1/4 baguette sliced into thin pieces, about 1 cm thick (approx. 10 pieces)
1 tbsp olive oil for pan
1 oz fresh soft goat cheese
1/4 tbsp honey
1 pear
a few grapes (optional)
pinch of salt

1. coat bread slices in olive oil in pan, toast them until crispy and lightly browned.
2. smear goat cheese on crostini, take a pinch of salt and sprinkle it on all the pieces. you don’t really need to salt them, but it helps bring out the flavor.
3. drizzle honey over the crostini
4. thinly slice pear and put on top. halve some grapes if you’ve got them.

Leave a Reply

