Homemade Egg-less pancakes with Ginger Syrup


I love breakfast and brunch. I could eat cereal for every meal. I wrote a 20 page paper on oatmeal last semester. I love muffins. Scrambled eggs. Sausage. Bacon. Potatoes. Quiche. Fruit salad. The thing is, high blood pressure runs in my mom’s side of the family so I’m careful of how much sodium and fat I eat and I make sure I get some workout time in every week. I saw something great on the news last night: there’s a gym in L.A. that is harnessing energy from its exercise machines. They strapped Duracell charging boxes to a room of spin bikes and basically had the class power itself. How is that for green engineering and sustainability? I feel like all gyms should do that. Maybe I can get the campus gym to participate!

Anyway, whenever I come home for break, I like to make pancakes for lunch. They’re easy, filling, delicious, and piping hot–perfect for break because I basically spend the entire day in bed reading or watching movies. I whipped these up in about 15 minutes and used the leftover ginger syrup that I stored from the candied ginger recipe. The ginger syrup was amaaaaazing with these pancakes.

This recipe isn’t fat-free, but it IS egg-less, which helps cut down some of the cholesterol. I also added blueberries for some added anti-oxidant kick and good fruity sweetness.


Ingredients for pancakes:

1 cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
1 cup milk
1 tsp water
1 tbsp oil
1/2 tsp vanilla

Note: add in blueberries or other fruits if you wish, and feel free to use whole wheat flour!

Makes 4 pancakes

1. mix wet ingredients together, add in flour, baking powder, and sugar
2. fold in add-ins. I chopped in some candied ginger and added blueberries
3. heat griddle or pan, and spray with Pam or use a tablespoon of butter to grease the pan
4. spoon in batter, flip when they start to bubble

One thought on “Homemade Egg-less pancakes with Ginger Syrup

Leave a Reply

