Candied Ginger, Candied Life


I found a huge ginger root in my fridge a couple days ago. Enough ginger to beat someone over the head with. Since I don’t condone outrageous and unnecessary violence, I figured I’d help my parents get rid of some of that ridiculous amount of ginger. I sat and vegetated in front of the television for a while when my mind wandered to the taste of this sweet ginger candy wrapped in rice paper that my friend Yinshi once shared with me on a long bus-ride back from NYC. We were there with our other Yale Center for British Art student guide buds and had spent a long, but visually and intellectually stimulating day looking at the Gilbert & George exhibition at the Brooklyn Museum. At the end of that day, a little ginger candy spiced up my sluggish mind, and got me through the late and long bus ride.


After watching 5 episodes of 24, I needed something to get me off the couch. And in that moment, the only thing that could get me to do anything other than waste away in front of the tv, was to cook something. So I looked up a couple of basic candied ginger recipes, decided I wasn’t going to follow any of them because they called for way too much sugar, and proceeded to dump things together in a pot. Risky. But, I figured, if I totally messed up the ginger, at least I’d come away from the whole mess with some yummy syrup, right? I told myself that that was right.


The ginger was zingy, chewy, and sweet. And beautiful. And, turns out I was left with some glorious spiced syrup.

Ingredients:
1/2 large ginger root, peeled and sliced into thin coins
2 cups water
3/4 cups sugar
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp rice flour

1. bring water and sugar to a boil.
2. put ginger root in, stir to coat, cover pot, lower heat to low simmer.
3. simmer until ginger is chewy and tender, about 45 minutes-hour.
4. take it out and cool it on a rack
5. mix 1 tbsp sugar and 1 tbsp rice flour in a bowl, and roll cooled ginger in mixture to coat
6. eat it and brainstorm other recipes you can add it to (like scones and cookies, etc.)

*note: watch it, and make sure it doesn’t burn!

Leave a Reply

