Blueberry Cinnamon Banana Oatmeal


I love oatmeal. A while back, I wrote a review of Starbucks’ “Perfect Oatmeal,” promising that any of us can make our oatmeal just as “perfect” for less. I swore that it was true, but I never followed it up with a recipe. So I figured it was time to put my money where my mouth is–or so they say. I bought about five bananas the other day so I could watch some of them turn brown and make banana bread, but that meant I had about two bananas to spare. What to do with them? Arrange a three-way marriage between bananas, blueberries, and cereal, of course!

Some of my friends are well aware of my obsession with fruit. I eat about six pieces and three different varieties of fruit a day. At least. Hey, it’s going to go bad in the dining hall if no one else eats it, anyway! I’m always eager to incorporate them into baked goods, hot and cold cereals, salads, and sandwiches. Fruit makes everything taste great. Sweeter. Better.


This is an easy oatmeal recipe that you can make using either steel cut oats or instant. All you need is some fruit, cinnamon, and brown sugar–basic pantry items or standard dining hall inventory. I made this with steel cut since I have the convenience of a larger kitchen and a fully stocked fridge for a few days before I head back to school. This was creamy, slightly sweet, and highlighted by the freshness of the fruit–perfect for a cool near-spring morning!

Ingredients:
1/2 cup steel cut oats (Irish or Quaker, doesn’t matter)
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup soymilk (or regular milk)
1 1/2 tsp. brown sugar
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup frozen organic blueberries (or any other kind of berry. 1/2 cup might seem like much, but that’s because I love blueberries!! Plus I bought a giant bag from Costco.)
1/2 banana sliced

Makes 1 serving.

1. Put oats, water, and soymilk in a pot. Stir the oats a little as the mixture comes to a boil. Once it starts to bubble, turn the heat off, put the lid on the pot, and let the oats sit and soak in the heat and moisture and cook. Should take about 5-8 minutes.
2. Once oats are cooked through, add brown sugar and cinnamon.
3. Slice bananas and put them on top.
4. Put blueberries on top.
5. Comfort self with warm, bright oatmeal, and face the day!

Leave a Reply

