"Make yourself a dang quesadilla!"

I looked at the dining hall menu tonight and decided I would make my own food instead. As much as I wanted to try the apple stuffed pork loin, I wasn’t quite in the adventurous mood. Besides, I wanted to save enough room in my stomach for some goldfish crackers, which I recently rediscovered and can’t stop eating. I’m going to have to get someone to help me out with that.

Anyway, I looked for a flour tortilla in Trumbull dining hall, but couldn’t find one. I settled for half of a spinach wrap and went to the salad bar to figure out what I wanted to put in it. I saw a shredded cheese blend sitting happily by some mushrooms and spinach leaves and decided to make myself a “dang quesadella!” a la Napoleon Dynamite. I ground some fresh black pepper on top of the cheese for some added flavor.

This is what it looked like before I grilled it in the panini press.


I guess if you wanted, you could microwave it, but I wanted that crispness. Besides, microwaving has more eerily processed connotations. Anyway, so I let it sit in the panini press for about a minute. That time will vary depending on how serious your press is. Don’t be afraid to check it from time to time to make sure that it’s crisp. Also check to make sure you’re not about to burn the place down.

This was what it looked like after I dotted some tabasco on the plate and cut my quesadilla in half:


I have to say, it was surprisingly good, although toasted bread and melted cheese are rarely ever a combination for epic failure. The mushrooms were meaty, the cheese was deliciously melty and the tortilla was perfectly crisped. More importantly, I was happy. Yay!

Leave a Reply

