cookies-cake 002-3

Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies

cookies-cake 002-3

I have a weakness. Oddly enough, I’m not a “sweets” person, but I manage to eat a lot of them without even wanting to eat them. My weakness is the snacking demon. At some point during the school year, I got to the point where I wasn’t really eating three meals a day, I was just snacking on random things all day. Just don’t tell my mom.

As a chronic snacker, I have to buy or make healthier snacks if I don’t want to end up with a sink-full of crumb-dusted dishes and my own gravitational orbit. Which would make it even more difficult for me to do the dishes…but then I’d never have to do them! I would be like a planet! Celebrated, catalogued, studied…and probably dead very shortly thereafter. So maybe not.

Anyway, I came across this recipe for chewy oatmeal raisin cookies on David Leibovitz’s blog, and it can be found here. The recipe uses applesauce as a substitute for the majority of the butter that you would use in a typical oatmeal cookie recipe and didn’t seem to change the texture much. I added in dried cranberries since I didn’t have any raisins on hand and I’ve also discovered that I like them better. But of course, you could put any dried fruit in a cookie and it would probably taste good.

cookies-cake 001

These cookies don’t have cinnamon in them, so once baked, the nuttiness of the oats, brown sugar, and what little butter is used really comes out tasting toasty and delicious!

Recipe (taken from the link above, originally adapted from Nick Malgieri’s recipe)

Makes about 18 medium-sized cookies

1 cup flour (spoon flour into dry-measure cup and level off)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup (packed) light brown sugar
1 large egg
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups rolled oats (not instant)
1/2 cup dark raisins (or dried cranberries)

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and set the rack on the lower and upper thirds of the oven.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

3. In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and granulated sugar until smooth. Mix in the brown sugar, then the egg, applesauce, and vanilla.

4. Stir in the dry ingredients, then the oats and raisins.

5. Drop the batter by rounded teaspoons 2-inches apart on the baking sheets and use a fork to gently flatten the dough.

6. Bake the cookies for 10 to 12 minutes, or until they “look dull on the surface but are moist and soft”, according to Nick. Rotate baking sheets during baking for even heating.

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies

  1. Pingback: Weekend Foodie Links : Blisstree - Family, Health, Home and Lifestyles

Leave a Reply

