flatbread 005

Whole Wheat Flatbread with a Flourish

flatbread 008

Two weekends ago, I decided I would spend my last day on campus in style. Between moving boxes and packing my 4 foot tall suitcases,  I wanted to look back on the last day of my junior year and remember something other than being a sweaty mess. So I headed to New Haven’s resturant for the gods, Caseus. Caseus has become one of the best in New Haven and it has an adjoining cheese shop where you can buy the ingredients for nearly everything on the menu. Trust me, this place really IS one of the best in the city.

flatbread 002

My friend and I ordered two specials: homemade sausage with mustard seed and munster cheese in an artisnal bun and flatbread with goat cheese, melon, honey, proscutto, and mixed greens. As you can see, the latter dish was the inspiration for this recipe. The saltiness of the prosciutto is deliciously matched with the sweetness of the drizzled honey, its smokiness compliments the fruitiness of the well, fruit, the tartness of the goat cheese provides an excellent binding flavor, and the nuttiness of the whole wheat flatbread provides wonderful background and base. Caseus knew what it was doing. I made my version at home with strawberries instead of cantaloupe melon, since I didn’t have any, and I added some basil for a little kick.

flatbread 005

The flatbread seems complicated, but the thing is, you can really taste the layers of flavors in this recipe because it’s made with simple, natural ingredients that compliment each other well. I’m so glad I finally made this because I’ve had that flatbread on my mind ever since I first ate it two weekends ago.

Prosciutto on Foodista


Recipe (serves 2 or 4 if serving it as an appetizer)

For Flatbread:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup warm (105-115 degrees) water

1/4 tsp dry active yeast

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp oil to coat dough for rising, 1 tsp for brushing before baking

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Proof yeast in bowl with warm water. When it bubbles or foams, mix in flours and salt. Knead the dough for about 2 minutes and then form into a ball. Coat it with 1 tsp olive oil and set it in a warm place for 45 minutes.

3. Punch down dough after rising, reform it into a ball, and let it rest for 30 minutes, covered.

4. Roll or pat it out into your shape of choice–I made a rectangle. You want it to be thin, since it is a flatbread. Brush top with remaining olive oil and bake for about 10 minutes.

For Layers of Topping (keep oven at 425 degrees while you’re layering your toppings!)

4 oz fresh chevre (goat cheese)

5 medium-sized strawberries, sliced thin

8 slices prosciutto

4 leaves of basil, ribboned

1/2 tsp honey to drizzle

salad greens for garnish

1. Spread goat cheese on flatbread, pizza-style.

2. Layer strawberries, sprinkle basil on flatbread.

3. Add prosciutto. Drizzle honey, making sure to get some on all the bits of prosciutto. Top with some mixed greens.

4. Bake at 425 degrees for about 5 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Flatbread with a Flourish

  1. Now that is delicious! I followed your blog through the foodieblogroll and I’m glad I did! I love your easy recipes.Hope you wont mind but I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site, just add this little widget here to this post and it’s all set to go, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

