Salmonella is only a minor deterrent

I am a peanut butter fanatic. My best friends can attest to this. It got so bad first semester that I asked Sinead to help me watch my peanut butter intake after I ate half a jar in a week. She was actually pretty successful. I managed to make the rest of it last for another month or so.

Last night, my suite held a game night and invited a few of our friends over. By a few, I mean we had almost 20 people in our small-ish room at one point. We started with this game called “loaded questions” in which one person poses a question like, “what kind of animal do you think you are?” to the rest of the room and then has to guess who responded what. It’s kind of complicated and difficult to explain via internet. Anyway, I think what I should have asked last night, had I the fortune of wisdom upon me (I didn’t), was, “what would you want your last meal on Earth to be?”

Because my response would have DEFINITELY included peanut butter. Also, while most people would have put down a main dish and a side, I think my last meal would be a meal in name only. In reality, it would probably look more like those 12-course feasts that Shakespeare memorialized in Hamlet. But I digress. Back to peanut butter.

Last summer, in Budapest, I ate about 5 European-sized jars of peanut butter. In American terms that’s about 2.5 jars. Embaraaaaaaasing and freeeeeaky. I’m still justifying it by saying it’s the poor man’s steak. Let’s hope I come up with a better argument for the history paper I have due next week. Anyway, that’s the first time I really paid attention to peanut butter and all its different varieties. Processed peanut butter has a lot of sugar and some hydrogenated oils mixed in. Organic peanut butter, like the kind I bought in Austria, is strictly roasted peanuts. Then there’s Dutch peanut butter, which my friend Sarah bought at a Dutch goods store, Kaas & Co., in nearby South Norwalk, CT.
It’s called Calve and evidently, as Sarah explained it, Pindakaas translates to “peanut cheese.” Appetizing.

Just kidding. This peanut butter tastes pretty good. It’s got a deep smokiness to it, probably because they roast their peanuts longer than Jiffy does. It’s also got less vegetable oil in it, although it isn’t organic peanut butter’s “just peanuts” by any means.

Personally, I still love Santa Cruz’s organic crunchy peanut butter. It’s lightly roasted and intensely satisfying.
Yes. Yes it is.

My friend Sam, who is also a peanut butter fanatic of sorts, introduced me to the Peanut Butter Company earlier this year. Its URL is more than appropriate. www.ilovepeanutbutter.com. It’s for people like me, who are obsessed. And for those who just plain like it. Anyway, he brought over the cinnamon-raisin variety, and I immediately fell in love. Here’s a way to make it if you don’t want to spend $6 on a jar or want to eat it in smaller batches because you’re skeptical:

2 tbsp of peanut butter (organic or not, crunchy or not, but you know which one I favor)
1/4 tbsp of cinnamon (that might seem like a lot, but I love cinnamon)
1/4 to 1/2 tbsp of honey, to taste (I think PB co uses brown sugar or just plain sugar, but I prefer honey. They say that sugar has half the sweetness of honey. Obviously peanut butter isn’t the place to calorie scrimp, but hey I do what I can, right?)

Und voila!!!

Happy p-b and j!!!

One thought on “Salmonella is only a minor deterrent

Leave a Reply

